• NUCA

Pavement Policy Permit Information

As utility contractors we are continuously digging/trenching in the existing paved roadways around our communities.  Many public entities have adopted the “Regional Pavement Cut Policy”.  This policy has been established with very little contractor input.  If you are having questions or concerns with this policy when you are on a project this committee can help.  NUCA of Eastern Washington and North Idaho now has a seat at the table during the annual meetings with the entities who made, modify and enforce this policy.  Being a part of this committee gives utility contractors in our area a voice for work that directly effects our bottom line.





City of Spokane Street Obstruction Permit

Cost: Dig ($100 3-day min) Non-Dig ($25 per day – first 3 days) Additional 3 days ($40)

Obtain Permit Online: https://aca.spokanepermits.org/CitizenAccess/Login.aspx

(Process Tutorial Available here: https://static.spokanecity.org/documents/business/resources/permitting/online-permitting/online-obstruction-permit-step-by-step.pdf

Hard Copy PDF Permit Application Doc available here: https://static.spokanecity.org/documents/business/resources/applications/streetobstruction/street-obstruction-permit-application-2018-01-05.pdf

Return By Fax: 509.625.6822

With any on site questions or concerns with the Regional Pavement Cut Policy, contact:

Andy Schenk: Ph 509.625.6065, aschenk@spokanecity.org

Chris Cafaro: 509.625.7757, ccafaro@spokanecity.org

Joel Taylor: 509.625.6159, jtaylor@spokanecity.org

John Saywers: 509.625.7822, jsaywers@spokanecity.org


Spokane County Road Obstruction Permit

Cost: PERMIT FEE Fees vary from $125.00 - $ 200.00. Inspection charges are unknown at the time the permit is issued. You will be billed later by the auditor’s office on the fee and inspection charges. Inspection time is approx. $48.00 per hour + or – and the amount of time varies with the type and size of the project. Work that commences without notification will result in a $500.00 fine. If your project begins later than the start date on your permit and you do not notify the permit technician of the delay, you may be billed for inspection charges during that timeframe.

Obtain PDF Permit Application Doc available here: https://www.spokanecounty.org/DocumentCenter/View/8414/ROWApplicationApril2013?bidId=

Return to Division of Engineering and Roads, 1026 W Broadway Ave, Spokane, WA 99260

With any on site questions or concerns with the Regional Pavement Cut Policy, contact:

Angela Roth:  Ph 509.477.3600, aroth@spokanecounty.org

Becca McConnaughey:  Ph 509.477.3600,  rmcconnaughey@spokanecounty.org

Eric Jenkin:  Ph 509.477.3600, EJenkin@spokanecounty.org

Matt Zarecor:  509.477.3600, mzarecor@spokanecounty.org

Wendy Iris:   509.477.7441, wiris@spokanecounty.org


City of Spokane Valley Street Obstruction Permit/Right-Of-Way Permits

Cost: Fee structure is variable depending on scope of work, see link for complete schedule (Page 9 for ROW fees): http://www.spokanevalley.org/filestorage/6836/6902/7160/Master_Fee_Schedule.pdf

Obtain Permit Application Online: https://ci-spokanevalley-wa.smartgovcommunity.com/ApplicationPublic/ApplicationHome

Hard Copy PDF Permit Application Doc available here: http://www.spokanevalley.org/filestorage/6836/6896/1496/2831/11631/11621/11639/ROWPA.pdf

Return By E-mail: permitcenter@spokanevalley.org – DO NOT FAX

With any on site questions or concerns with the Regional Pavement Cut Policy, contact:

John Johnson: , john.johnson@spokanevalley.org

Scott Wallace: Ph 509.869.5373, swakkace@spokanevalley.org

Shane Arlt: Ph 509.720.5002, sarlt@spokanevalley.org


City of Cheney Street Obstruction Permit/Right-Of-Way Permits

Cost: See attached schedule (need to create link for website)

Online: no online permit process available

Hard Copy PDF Permit Application Doc available here: https://www.cityofcheney.org/DocumentCenter/View/284

Return By FAX: (509) 498-9249 or E-mail: tgrigg@cityofcheney.org

With any on site questions or concerns with the Regional Pavement Cut Policy, contact:

Shane Nilles: 509.498.9229, snilles@cityofcheney.org

Todd Ableman: 509.498.9293, tableman@cityofcheney.org


City of Liberty Lake Street Obstruction Permit/Right-Of-Way Permits

Cost: See link for complete schedule (Page 8 for ROW fees): http://www.libertylakewa.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3971/Fee-Schedule-2018---Effective-7-1-18

Online: no online peremit process available

Hard Copy PDF Permit Application Doc available here: http://www.libertylakewa.gov/DocumentCenter/View/130/Right-of-Way-Permit-Application-PDF

Return By FAX: (509) 755-6713 or E-mail: permitcenter@libertylakewa.gov

With any on site questions or concerns with the Regional Pavement Cut Policy, contact:

Scott Bernhard: 509. . , sbernhard@libertylakewa.gov

Dennis Scott: 509.755.6725, dscott@libertylakewa.gov


WA State DOT - WSDOT

Local WSDOT pavement expert/contact for state routes is:

Kevin Littleton, P.E.

WSDOT Eastern Region Materials Engineer

509-324-6170, littlek@wsdot.wa.gov

First point of contact for proposed utility work impacting state routes:

Brian Marquette, P.E.

WSDOT Eastern Region Utilities Engineer

509-324-6121, marqueb@wsdot.wa.gov

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All